Touchdown, 49ers: Eddie DeBartolo Jr. makes Hall of Fame; Anquan Boldin wins Man of Year award

Feb 10, 2016 492

by Matt Barrows

The chants of "Eddie D! Eddie D!" from the crowd outside the Bill Graham Civic Auditorium heralded the announcement that was made later inside.  Eddie DeBartolo Jr., who won five Super Bowls when he owned the 49ers but who has been a conspicuous missing piece from the Pro Football Hall of Fame, finally was voted in on Saturday.

The news came at the NFL Honors show, which closed with 49ers wide receiver Anquan Boldin winning the Walter Payton Man of the Year award for his contributions off the field. It was not an easy path to Canton, Ohio, for the popular former 49ers owner. DeBartolo, 69, had been a finalist on four other occasions but fallen short.

Read more


You may be interested