Italian heritage, as seen by UNESCO

Nov 03, 2023 1058

BY: Silvia Nittoli

Leonardo da Vinci’s Last Supper, the city of Vicenza and the Palladian Villas of Veneto, as well as the historical center of Rome, the Amalfi Coast, and the Aeolian Islands. The Sassi of Matera, Mount Etna and the Dolomites, the Cinque Terre, and the wine landscapes of Piedmont.

These are just some of the 59 sites in Italy that have been included in the UNESCO World Heritage list. The definition of “world heritage” emerged in 1972, when the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization adopted the Convention to protect sites of “exceptional universal value.”

Read more


You may be interested