National Italian American Sports Hall of Fame 42nd annual induction and awards gala

Dec 19, 2019 782

Celebrating 42 years of Italian Americans in Sports, the National Italian American Sports Hall of Fame hosted its annual star-studded Induction and Awards Gala on Saturday, November 9th at the Westin O’Hare. With 650 guests on hand, the NIASHF welcomed the all-star class of 2019, which included Super Bowl Champion, Glenn Carano; National Hot Rod Association Champion, Alexis DeJoria & posthumously Rose Bowl Champion, Ralph “Babe” Serpico.

Sharing the stage with this year’s inductees, Dominic Stramaglia received the prestigious Sportsman of the Year Award in recognition of his philanthropic & civic work. The first ever Mario Andretti Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to its namesake and 1981 Inductee, Mario Andretti. This year’s honorees were selected by our Induction Committee for not only their athletic achievements but for their character, integrity, sportsmanship and pride in our Italian heritage.

The program, which was emceed by President of Onesti Entertainment, Ron Onesti, was filled with inspirational speeches, along with a special tribute to the life and achievements of NIASHF Founder, George Randazzo, who we sadly lost this past July.

Also in attendance were former Inductees Tommy Lasorda, Gina Carano, Dan Pastorini, Ray Mancini, Jerry Colangelo, Phil Villapiano, Carmen Salvino, Jean Lenti Ponsetto, Doug Bruno, Frank Lentine & the Family of Nat Rosasco.

Founded on the values of Family, Friends, Faith and Community, the NIASHF was proud to contribute to the Italian American Veterans Museum, in honor of NIASHF late founder, George Randazzo, a proud Vietnam Veteran. On hand to accept the donation was President of the Italian American Veterans Museum, Paul Basile.

Click here to view all photos from the 42nd Annual Induction and Awards Gala

SOURCE: National Italian American Sports Hall of Fame

You may be interested