International Literary Award "Città di Penne-Moscow-USA"

Aug 03, 2019 470

The International Literary Award Città di Penne, created by Italian Professor Igino Creati in 1979, has been awarded to influential scholars and artists from all over the world. The Prize has evolved over time, and every year has become more prestigious and more relevant to Italian culture in Italy and abroad.

Past recipients include: Umberto Eco, José Saramago, Mario Luzi, Aleksandr Solgenitzin, Günter Grass, Claudio Magris, Imre Kertèsz, Alberto Bevilacqua and David Grossman. In 2015 a new section was created for screenwriters led by 2014 “Penne Prize” winner Enrico Vanzina.  Other recent winners include: Carlo Verdone, Giancarlo Gianni and Gianni Amelio.

The addition of the American chapter of the International Literary Award Città di Penne, which is now known as the “Penne-Moscow-USA Literary Prize”, has been made possible by Dr. Antonio Carlo Vitti, professor of Film History and Director of the Middlebury College Summer Intensive Italian Language School.

The 2019 prize will be awarded to Domenico Calopresti, Italian director, screenwriter and actor. The ceremony will take place on Saturday, August 3rd, at 4:30 PM at the Museo Italo Americano in collaboration with the Middlebury College Italian Language School. 

We invite the whole Italian and Italian American community to attend this special event and join us, Antonio Vitti, and Domenico Calopresti for light refreshments after the ceremony.

FREE ADMISSION. Seating available on a first come, first served basis. Space is limited, please reserve early at or 415.673.2200

SOURCE: Museo Italoamericano

You may be interested