The American Academy in Rome honors Maestro Bernardo Bertolucci

May 04, 2013 1541

Valentina Moncada Di Paternò, Dinner Chairman
Honorary Dinner Chairmen
The Honorable and Mrs. David H. Thorne
Mercedes T. Bass

Purchase tickets

The McKim Medal was established by the Trustees of the American Academy in Rome to honor an individual whose work internationally -- most particularly in Italy and in the United States -- has contributed significantly to the arts and humanities, and whose life exemplifies creative and intellectual exchange across the arts, scholarship, language, and culture. The Medal is awarded annually at a gala in Rome.
The net proceeds from the event allow Italian artists to join the Academy community as fellows, and also support an exchange program in the humanities with the Scuola Normale di Pisa. The almost 50 Italian fellowships that have been awarded since the first McKim Medal Gala in 2005 are a vital aspect of the Academy's mission: to support innovative artists, writers, and scholars living and working together in a dynamic international community.
The Medal, named for Charles Follen McKim (1847-1909), noted architect who established the Academy in 1894, was designed by Cy Twombly.
For information please contact Inga Clausing at +39 06-5846-474, or write to

McKim Medal Laureates are:
2012 Riccardo Muti, conductor and music director
2011 Luigi Ontani, artist
2010 Miuccia Prada, fashion designer
2009 Ennio Morricone, composer and music conductor
2008 Franco Zeffirelli, producer and director
2007 Umberto Eco, writer
2006 Cy Twombly, artist
2005 Renzo Piano, architect


You may be interested