Mezzogiorno – The 8 Regions that make up Southern Italy

Jun 16, 2015 1629

The South or Southern d'Italy is a macro-economic region comprising the Southern Italy and the Islands. Historically it corresponds to a good approximation to the regions in the former Kingdom of the Two Sicilies: Abruzzo, Basilicata, Calabria, Campania, Molise, Puglia, Sicily, Sardinia and portions of Lazio.

Membership of the island of Sardinia to the above macro is controversial, because of geographical location, the history all of its own, the specific linguistic and cultural, as well as several "anomalies" socio-economic. 

Read more


You may be interested